6/3/2024

COFFEE BREAK WITH... Abel Esiategiwa, Finance Consultant - Christie Finance Unsecured & Asset Finance

Coffee Break with… is a Christie & Co series showcasing the brilliance, expertise, and diversity of our network of over 200 employees.

When did you join Christie Finance?

I joined Christie Finance on the 4th of March 2024, and it has been a great experience since then.

Where were you when you accepted your role at Christie Finance?

I was at my home in Manchester, the call was one that changed my week and made up my month.

What was your first job?

My first job was back in Blackpool, working as a customer assistant for Harry Ramsdens fish & Chips.

In a couple of sentences, can you tell us a bit about your job at Christie Finance?

I work as a Finance Consultant based in the Chester office, my job entails helping and guiding businesses to secure finance for themselves for various business reasons.

What’s your favourite thing about Christie Finance?

My favourite thing about Christie Finance is the people, Shaun, Tony and everyone I work with in the Chester office have been unbelievable in terms of the assistance, advise and in every general sense and the role is one I cannot fault.

What’s been a highlight of your career so far?

The biggest highlight of my career so far was getting the job offer for Christie Finance as a Finance Consultant, it showed all my hard work and experience had paid off and got me to a role I always dreamed of.

How has the industry changed since you started at Christie Finance?

The industry has changed due to the market and a lot of uncertainties surrounding the economy.

Who in your industry do you feel most inspired by?

Tony and Shaun - They have a wealth of experience within the finance sector and they are more than happy to share their experience and knowledge with people like myself who aim to get to the point they are in.

What’s your hometown? Where do you live now?

Hometown is Blackpool and I currently live in Manchester.

Where’s the best place you’ve been on holiday?

My home country - Nigeria.

What’s your biggest pet peeve?

Lateness.

If you could live and work in any city, where would you go?

Barcelona or Lagos.

What would be your desert island meal?

Jollof Rice.

What’s your favourite film?

Great Gatsby or No country for old men.

What is one thing on your bucket list?

Travel to every continent.

What is your biggest fear?

Snakes.

What news source do you read every day?

Sky news.

What’s your social media platform of choice?

Instagram.

To read more of our “Coffee Break with…” blog posts, click here.